Getting to know the natural and cultural-historical values of the specific karst area is one of the pillars on which the educational reception of visitors rests. In addition to land sites, hiking trails and cycling routes are on offer "Krka" National Park there are also attractive boat trips. Read how to organize them and what, in the meantime, you can see, with a note that all tickets, boat and excursion tickets, as well as information about them, can be obtained at the reception desks of the "Krka" National Park.
The public institution "Krka National Park" organizes boat transport from Skradin to Skradinsko buk, and excursions from Skradinsko buk to Tork, Visovac and Roški slap. Boats departing from Stinice and Remetić also go to the island of Visovac, and from Roško Slap there are also two trips, downstream to Visovac and upstream to the Krka monastery and the ancient Croatian fortresses of Trošenj and Nečven.
Visitors especially enjoy the boat ride, and in 2020 the electrification of boat transport was started for the complete experience of sailing on the river with safe and modern boats.
Skradinski buk - Čikola - Skradinski buk
Take the excursion route to discover the most unusual landscape confluence in Croatia, the confluence of the Krka and Čikola by boat that departs from the pier for the middle course of the Krka at Skradinski Buk. The trip lasts one hour and includes a drive to the lake spring Torak, a view of Ključica, the best-preserved medieval fortress in the Park, a tour of Čekinac bay, popularly known as Krnića lake, and then a return to Skradinski buk.
When the mighty travertine barrier of Skradinski buk was raised, the Krka laked up to Visovac, and the mouth of the Čikola sank. This is how the most unusual landscape in Croatia was created. The Kalička sod, a travertine barrier about seven hundred meters long and only ten meters wide, separates Krka from the mouth of the Čikola. Thus, a person sees the exact place where the moment in which has been repeated for millennia Chicola, after traveling through a narrow canyon, spreads his arms wide and rushes into Krka's embrace. Excursion boats sail right through Kalički busen, which transport visitors to the island of Visovac along the lakebed course of the river.
It is located in the middle of a fairytale confluence of two rivers Tuesday, spring in the form of a lake. Although it is a spring, due to its round shape it looks more like a lake, so we call it a lake spring.
Skradinski buk - Visovac - Skradinski buk
The island of Visovac is one of the most important natural and cultural values of the Republic of Croatia. It is located in the lower reaches of the Krka River between Roški Slap and Skradinski Buk. In the 14th century, it was known as the White Rock (Lapis albus) because its base was a white stone cliff. Under the influence of the continental and Mediterranean climate, along with the human contribution, Visovac has become a unique floristic and horticultural landscape monument. Visovac, which the people also call Our Lady's Island, has always attracted pilgrims. Even today, they make organized pilgrimages using excursion boats of the "Krka National Park" Public Institution.
For visiting Visovac, boat trips from Skradinski buk are organized for a duration of two hours with a stop of half an hour for sightseeing of the islet, the Franciscan monastery, the church and the museum.
Visovac was first inhabited by the hermits of St. Augustin, who built the monastery and the church of St. Paul. When they left around 1440, the Franciscans came to the island. Since 1445, the Franciscan monastery of the Mother of Mercy and the church of Our Lady of Visovačka have been located on Visovac.
Valuable books, documents and works of art are kept in the monastery. Seven incunabula, books printed before 1500, and the Decree of Pope Innocent XI are kept on the island. from 1687, which grants forgiveness of sins, with previously fulfilled conditions, to all who visit Visovac on the feast of Our Lady of the Angels.
Skradinski buk - Visovac - Roški slap - Skradinski buk
At the halfway point of the Krka stream, a series of travertine cascades spread out, which the people named Necklaces. When it crosses over them, in the wide fan of the Roški slap, the water of the river collapses into the lake. Squeezed between the canyons of the Krka and Čikola rivers, the middle course of the Krka exudes a rich history of living in these areas. The Ozidiana cave at the top of the canyon provided shelter to the man of the Younger Stone Age, and Franciscans have been living and praying on the "White Rock" in the middle of Lake Visovački since the 15th century. They are connected by a narrow strait called Među gredam, through which excursion boats pass while sailing from Visovac to Roški slap.
Roški Slap is the name given to a vast waterfall that consists of 22,5 meter high main waterfalls and countless backwaters, cascades and travertine islands. The beginning of the barrier, at the exit from the canyon, forms a series of low cascades, popularly called Necklaces. The highest waterfall, 15 meters high, is located at the end of the barrier. Next to Roški slap are watermills (mills), testimony of traditional life and economy until the first half of the 20th century, with continuity inherited from older periods.
There are 517 wooden steps leading up the steep rock from the Roško slap to the Oziđana cave, a place of exceptional historical value. Archaeological research in the cave confirmed the presence of all Neolithic cultures of the Adriatic area (Impresso, Danil and Hvar), then Eneolithic, and those of the Early and Middle Bronze Age. There is an archaeological collection in the cave ,. Oziđana Pećina is part of the educational hiking trail Stinice (Visovac) – Roški Slap – Oziđana Pećina.
The four-hour trip from Skradinski buk includes a tour of the islet of Visovac with a professional guide for 30 minutes, a ride through the Među gredam canyon towards Roški slap, a stop at and sightseeing of Roški slap (walking along the footpath over Necklace, sightseeing of water mills and stupas) lasting 90 minutes.
Roški slap - Visovac - Roški slap
The first excursion boat that transported visitors from Roški Slap to Visovac and Skradinski Buk was launched on March 31, 1912. After more than a hundred years, that route is still from 2020 again, one of the biggest attractions in the Park, which is always of great interest to visitors. The two-hour excursion includes a half-hour tour of Visovac accompanied by an informant and a ride through the Među gredam canyon. Među gredam canyon, located one kilometer downstream from Roški slap, can be said to be one of the most beautiful scenes in the "Krka" National Park. Only 500 meters long and 50 to 100 meters wide, cut into vertical, rough rocks about 150 meters high, this canyon is one of the most geomorphologically interesting parts of the Krka River.
Stinice – Visovac – Remetić
The islet of Visovac can be reached from the left or right bank. The boat ride takes 5 minutes, and the trip includes sightseeing in Visovac for half an hour. Stinice is also the beginning of one of the most beautiful hiking trails, the trail Stinice - Roški slap - Oziđana pećina. In the hundred-year-old medunca and white hornbeam forest in Stinice, the exhibition "Lugar's house" was subsequently arranged in the Visovačka house "Kuželj", a fairy-tale place for workshops with children and learning about the important ecosystem of the forest.
Roški waterfall - Krka monastery - medieval fortresses Trošenj and Nečven - Roški waterfall
The Roški Slap offer from April to November includes organized boat transportation to the Krka monastery and the medieval fortresses of Trošenj and Nečven, lasting 2,5 hours. Visitors can get tickets to the "Krka" National Park and boat excursion tickets to the Krka Monastery at the entrance (reception) of Roški Slap. The excursion includes a half-hour tour of the Krka monastery accompanied by an informant and a view of the medieval fortresses of Trošenj and Nečven from the boat.
The spiritual center of Orthodox believers - the monastery of Krka (St. Archangel) is located in Constantinople on the Krka river itself, three and a half kilometers east of Kistanje. Built on the foundations of an older hermit monastery, it was first mentioned in written documents in 1402. During religious festivals, Orthodox believers make a pilgrimage to the Krka monastery. According to legend, the Krka monastery was built on the site where the apostle Paul preached Christ's faith to the people, in the sixties of the first century, and according to popular tradition, the Krka monastery was founded by Jelena Šubić, the widow of the Croatian prince Mladen II. Šubića, sister of Serbian Emperor Dušan. In 1615, Metropolitan Teodor of Dabrobosna founded a seminary in the monastery as the first organized school in the Serbian Orthodox Church. Underneath the Byzantine-style church are the ancient Roman catacombs, which are open to visitors. Valuable icons and art and craft items from the 15th to the 19th centuries are kept in the monastery treasury.
Organized groups must be notified in advance in writing to the "Krka National Park" Public Institution. Professional guidance is possible for excursions, which must also be requested in advance. Finally, let us repeat that all tickets, boat and excursion tickets, as well as information about them, can be obtained at the reception desks of the "Krka" National Park.
Cover photo: Krka National Park